TOOLS TO BUILD A GOOD LIFE
Our Day Labor Centers provide a safe and dignified place where day laborers can meet with employers for an honest days work at fair pay. And it’s more than that; our Centers help workers to build a better life for themselves and their families. Whether that means emergency care such as food, health care, and clothing or assistance to improve employability through English-language classes and job skills training; we are proud to be of assistance and welcome our day workers to the neighborhood.
WORKERS READY AND WAITING
We have plenty of skilled and non-skilled laborers available and ready to assist you with your project. Our centers provide a safe and organized environment with onsite bilingual staff to facilitate the hiring process, connecting you with the most qualified workers. Our expected rate of pay is $20.00/hr to ensure a fair hourly wage is paid, but specific rates may vary and/or negotiated depending on the specific job. Job requirements are negotiated between you and the worker.
Job type(s) we currently offer:
- Yard work
- Agriculture (including winery)
- House cleaning/property maintenance
- Disaster affected clean up
INFORMATION for EMPLOYERS – Contractors State License Requirement
In California all businesses or individuals who construct, or alter, or offer to construct or alter any building, highway, road, parking facility, excavation or other structure in California must be licensed by the Contractors State License Board (CSLB) if the total cost (labor and materials) of one or more contracts on the projects is $500 or more. Licenses may be issued to individuals, partnerships, corporations, joint venture or limited liability companies (LLC).
OWNER-BUILDERS EXEMPTION and RESPONSIBILITIES
Owner-builders who build or improve structures on their own property are not required to be licensed if they either do the work themselves or use their own employees (paid in wages). However, Owner-Builders hiring workers are subject to employment laws that include securing workers compensation insurance. Additional information regarding workers compensation insurance requirements can be accessed at http://www.dir.ca.gov/dwc/employer.htm.
PENALTY for UNLICENSED PRACTICE
Contracting without a license is usually a misdemeanor. Unlicensed contractors face a first offense sentence of six months in jail and/or a $5,000 fine, and potential administrative fines of $200 to $15,000.
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
What if I don’t speak Spanish?
No problem! Many of our workers speak varying levels of English and our hiring coordinators are available to assist you with translation as well. If necessary, you can also call us during the job to ask for interpretation over the phone (as staff capacity permits). We are here to make the experience work for you, and make hiring a practice you are likely to repeat.
Do I have to hire for a set minimum number of hours?
No, however, we do recommend a 4-hour minimum. Any job less than 4 hours may be challenging to fill and will most likely be set at a higher fixed amount. House cleaning jobs do not have a minimum, but we do strongly recommend you hire for at least three hours.
What is my tax liability?
Under Federal Law, if you are hiring a temporary worker for residential employment only, the Internal Revenue Service does not require the reporting of wages up to $1,700.00 per person per year. [Department of the Treasury, Internal Revenue Services. Household Employer’s Tax Guide, Publication 926]. Under California Law, if you are hiring a temporary worker for residential employment only, the Employment Development Department does not require the reporting of wages up to $750 per quarter per person or a total of $3,000 per person per year. There is no requirement to complete an I-9 form, for a sporadic or intermittent temporary worker, by a residential employer according to the Department of Homeland Security’s Employment Manual. You may hire more than one temporary worker at any one time or multiple workers in a quarter or a calendar year for residential employment. Please note that these are statements we found published on government websites. You should consult your own accountant or tax lawyer to determine what your tax liability may be for hiring a day laborer.
What about transportation?
Many workers have cars and can drive to job sites. Some workers travel via public transportation and need to be picked up at the Center by the employer. Please let us know when you call if you are available to transport workers to your job site.
What about breaks?
When you hire a day laborer or domestic worker you are considered an employer and as such need to assure that workers are provided with access to clean drinking water and bathrooms while they are on the job.
You will also need to make sure they take paid rest breaks and unpaid meal breaks as required by state and federal law.
Rest Breaks are paid 10 minute breaks (for a six hour shift 1-10 min. rest break & 1-30 min. meal break/for an 8 hour shift 2-10 min. rest breaks & 1-30 min. meal break)
Meal breaks are unpaid 30 minute breaks and may be waived by worker (in writing) if the shift is only six hours.
Overtime Pay – Workers should be paid 1.5 x their hourly wage for any hours workers over 8 hours in a day.